The Last Watcher Series

By D. B. Clinton           

Reviewed by Christopher Zoukis           

Ever since J. K. Rowling decided to put the Harry Potter series of books to rest, the publishing world has been seeking for a successor.  Mind Wings Audio may have stumbled across Rowling’s descendant.  The author’s name is D. B. Clinton, and Clinton has written an exciting new series of books called The Last Watcher.

The series is composed of The Last Watcher, The Night of the Shield, The Lady and the Shield, and The Shield and the Shadow.  They’re a cross between Harry Potter and Bram Stoker’s Dracula.  Which is to say they’re well-structured and cerebral, yet at the same time they’re spellbindingly visceral.  In other words, they punch the reader right in the stomach.

Read More

The Alabaster Roses

By P. H. K. Schoeffner

Reviewed by Christopher Zoukis

Two brothers search for a magical flower that will rouse their sister from her mystical slumber.

Jochen, Natalie, and Barbel are siblings.  One day, while exploring a nearby forest, they discover weird and wonderful black flowers.  Beautiful and elegant, the black flowers also exude an aura of horrible evil.  Cousin Thorsten, who is accompanying the siblings, relates the legend of Schoenboeck, a powerful magician, who laid a curse upon the flowers – anyone who approached the flowers would fall into a never ending sleep.  The only way to lift the curse is through the alabasters roses, which the wizard keeps inside his castle Drachrosenstein. 

When none of the others are looking, six-year old Natalie gathers a few of the black flowers.  She instantly falls asleep.  Her brothers determine they will rescue Natalie by finding the castle and bringing back the alabaster roses. 

Read More


Another of Haggard’s readers, Madame Blavatsky, asserted that Queen Ayesha embodied the first principle of the Theosophical doctrine, which stated there was a single, underlying inseparable Truth that had no cause and no beginning, thus unknowable and indescribable.  According to Blavatsky, it was Be-ness rather than Be-ing.  Yet this Be-ness comprised in its aspect the idea of absolute Abstract Motion, which encompassed the quality of Change. 

In other words, Queen Ayesha represented life, consciousness, and spirit.  Each of these three energies was dynamic and evolutionary.  Haggard took the two concepts – dynamism and evolution – and presented them in the reincarnated Queen Ayesha.  “My empire is of the imagination,” says She.  When the adventurers try to teach her Christian doctrine, she shrugs them off, saying, “The religions come and the religions pass, and civilizations come and pass, and naught endures but the world and human nature.” 

Read More